La Cucaracha, Marijuana, Pancho Villa & William Randolph Hearst – A Recipe for Propaganda


Hempy Cinco de Mayo! While you may think hemp and Cinco de Mayo are two separate subjects, I think you’ll find this post from a couple of years ago relevant. Enjoy!

The Hemp Press

I can’t help but think the universe is messing with me sometimes. When I discovered that the word Marijuana came from the song, “La Cucaracha” (The Cockroach)  it seemed too ridiculous to be true.  Being of Mexican descent, you would think I would have this Mexican folklore stuff down, but I have to admit, I’m a little rusty when it comes to my facts about my own culture. Don’t get me wrong, I embrace it whole heartedly, I just can’t proclaim to be very proficient. So when I came across this little piece of history, I was filled with a little bit of pride and an immediate urge to share. Could it really be that Mexican rebels managed to conquer 800,000 acres of land from William Randolph Hearst and that the word “Marihuana” (as it was originally written in Spanish) was taken from the song, “La Cucaracha?” While I had…

View original post 365 more words

Leave a Reply

