Breakfast Fit For a Hempress


My kids just went back to school this week. It always seems to get a little crazy when schedules change. One way I keep it simple though is by starting my morning with a hemp protein shake. Did you know that hemp protein is the most complete source of protein in the plant kingdom? It is naturally rich in all the essential amino acids, fatty acids (with the optimal balance of Omega-3 to Omega-6) and dietary fibre. (Just another amazing fact about hemp!)

I pull out my blender, add a cup (8oz) of vanilla flavored almond milk, 1 banana and and 4 tablespoons of hemp protein and VOILA! A meal that travels easy, is nutritious and tasty, too!


81PGRnukjXL._SY679_

Currently I’m using Trader Joe’s Vanilla Flavored Organic Hemp Protein Powder. This particular brand is 130 calories  and 9 grams of protein. A medium banana is 105 calories with 1 gram of protein and almond milk is another 90 calories with 1 gram of protein.  This totals 325 calories and 11 grams of protein in one yummy, nutritious low calorie, easy meal.

This is all part of my K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple, silly!) method of getting through my crazy days. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

Wishing  all you parents and your kids a happy and healthy new school year!

Leave a Reply

