Grow Colorado, Grow, Grow!


That’s my version of a cheer for the state of Colorado who has launched it’s first “Rebel Farmer!” Woo Hoo! (Cheering is my thing, what can I say?)

The New York Times article “Groundwork Laid, Growers Turn To Hemp in Colorado” talks about a farmer who is ready to come out of hiding.  Ryan Loflin has taken a bold step in going public about sowing 60 acres  of hemp in order to kick off the hemp industry in Colorado. It will be interesting to see how the Feds respond.

Matthew Staver for The New York Times

Matthew Staver for The New York Times

There have been life altering acts of civil disobedience. The most popular one that comes to mind is Rosa Parks. Her decision to not give up her seat on the bus that day affected the lives of so many, it’s mind blowing when you think about it.

Woody Harrelson & Jack Herer, Hemp Heroes

Woody Harrelson & Jack Herer, Hemp Heroes

It was 1996 when Woody Harrelson planted hemp seeds in Kentucky as an act of civil disobedience. Today, Kentucky is at the forefront of the industrial hemp movement and even has public officials fighting for the crop in D.C. While it’s not happening overnight for Kentucky, at least they are making an effort.

I wrote about “Betting the Farm to Grow Hemp” and I was serious when I said I’m not sure if I would have the guts to challenge the Feds, but I can tell you this: I am very grateful to those farmers who have the courage to initiate the change we so desperately need.

I believe any hemp farmer that is seriously putting their livelihood at risk to challenge this antiquated, misguided, ridiculous law, is a hero and I will go the extra mile to cheer for them!

Hemp, hemp hooray!!!! Hemp, hemp hooray!!!

4 thoughts on “Grow Colorado, Grow, Grow!

Leave a Reply

