Deforestation Panic Attack!


images

The thought of deforestation is freaking me out! I love trees! Aside from the fact that trees are just plain gorgeous (when they’re not looking so desperate like my friend up above), keeping trees alive and standing is necessary to our oxygen supply and our well being.

I was never a big science girl but I do know that trees are a vital part of our eco-system which keep microbes, insects, plants,  and all kinds of organisms alive. The older and bigger the tree, the better for the environment it is. The more trees there are, the more oxygen is in the air, which keeps global warming at bay. Trees are AWESOME!

HEMP NOT TREES

Historically, paper used to be made from hemp. And when I say historically, our first two drafts of the Declaration of Independence were actually written on hemp paper, that’s just how historical hemp paper is!

I was reflecting on how many trees we’re chopping down for paper and how our demand  is supposed to double within 25 years. That basically means we would have to clear-cut all our forests to meet this demand if we don’t do something about it now. That thought literally made me jump on my computer and write something!

You may have heard this before, but it’s worth repeating:

  • It takes 1 acre of hemp to create the same amount paper as 4 acres of trees annually.
  • Hemp paper can be recycled 7 to 8 times, compared with only 3 times for wood pulp paper.
  • Hemp paper also does not need to be bleached with poisonous dioxins, which poison waterways.

HELLOOOOO!!! Why are we still cutting down trees?!!

Let’s see – cleaner air, less chemical run off into our water and soil, better quality paper…. There is no downside!

Again, I ask, “What are we waiting for?!”

How do we get enough people to understand this? Thoughts? Anyone?

Well, just thought I would get it off my chest while I was freaking out about it.

**Sigh** Thanks for listening. **Deep breath**

Leave a Reply

