The Body Shop Loves Hemp


I was at the Topanga Plaza Mall the other day when I remembered I was all out of hand cream. Just then, I looked up and was right in front of The Body Shop. I was lured in by their sale sign when I remembered the founder of The Body Shop, Anita Roddick was a huge environmentalist and hemp supporter. I also deeply appreciate that she financed Jack Herer’s movie, Jack Herer: The Emperor of Hemp.

As I looked around, a sales rep offered to help me when I asked if she had any hemp products. She was thrilled to show me their pretty extensive line of products and was even more thrilled to show me a beautiful green tin with a large hemp leaf logo on the cover. It was an awesome gift set that included a full size body butter, hand cream and foot cream. Check it out:

The Hemp Gift Set


Hemp Body Butter

Hemp Hand Protector

Foot Cream

This set retails for $50 but when I stopped in, I managed to find it 50% off! The tin is pretty awesome and serves as great storage for, well, you know….

I have to admit, I have not been a loyal customer to The Body Shop but after reading more about Anita Roddick and The Body Shop’s Values and Campaigns, the fact that I truly love these products and that I can identify with Anita as an entrepreneur, I am making it a point from this point forward to support The Body Shop.

If you have not had a chance to see Jack Herer’s movie, you’re missing out. I often have it on in the background just to listen to his voice when I miss him. Thank you Anita Roddick for making this possible.

I also invite you to learn more about The Body Shop and Anita Roddick and see if you get the “warm fuzzies” like I did. Anita, you are a true inspiration! BRAVO!

3 thoughts on “The Body Shop Loves Hemp

  1. Anita introduced her hemp line back in 1999. It has not changed since. She was a pioneer. Sadly in 2000 she quit her company and in 2004 announced she had contracted Hepatitis C in 1971 from a blood transfusion. She died in 2007. Without her vision, Body Shop which had become a leader in the greening of the cosmetics industry, quickly lost its edge to bold imitators like the Body Deli which started paying much closer attention to the sourcing of ingredients. Lately the Body Shop has re-awakened, has been introducing organic lines. The hemp line is still a fine line, but if you read the ingredients closely, I don’t think they’ve yet removed and reformulated the offensive ingredients now on the Campaign For Safe Cosmetics no-no list. They need to update their policy and their chemistry, catch up to the rest of the green beauty industry.

Leave a Reply

