Linda M. Werner ~ The Highest Authority on Hemp


Posted by Hempress | Posted in The Hempress | Posted on 01-08-2011

Most people don’t know this, but I’m a registered Republican.  Also, as you can see from my picture, you may have guessed that I’m Hispanic or more specifically, of Mexican descent. There are a lot of things about me that surprise people. Being a mother of an adult child surprises the heck out of people, myself included! While I am not heavy into sports, I’m extremely active and  teach Spin Classes on the weekends as well as meditative hiking near my home. I’m married to a teacher/coach and while my eldest daughter recently graduated from USC,  my son is in 4th grade and my baby girl is in first. I’m not exactly a soccer mom, but I certainly could pass for one.

As you can see, I’m probably not your typical hemp activist. Actually, my hero and the reason I am a hemp activist, Jack Herer was a late bloomer just like me. In his movie, The Emperor of Hemp, they describe Jack as a Goldwater Republican who was actually for the Vietnam War before he became an activist. He later learned to laugh at himself for his previous “brutish and ignorant ways.”

I became a Medical Marijuana Patient in October 2007. At that time, I was working at the Keck School of Medicine at USC. Feeling uneasy about the legality of my situation, I took it upon myself to do some research. It was at this time that I came across the book, “The Emperor Wears No Clothes” written by Jack Herer. Reading that book literally freaked me out! I felt betrayed by my government and was shocked by how many people were in the dark about all this information. I just knew I had to do something.  Like many other activists I now know, this book changed my life:

This really should be required reading. You don’t know what you don’t know until you read it. Word of caution: don’t be surprised if you become obsessed with hemp!

Click here to purchase your own book: http://www.amazon.com/Emperor-Wears-Clothes-Authoritative-Historical/dp/1878125028

Linda M. Werner is Founder/CEO of Think Substance, a luxury hemp apparel line. To learn more, visit www.thinksubstance.com

One thought on “Linda M. Werner ~ The Highest Authority on Hemp

Leave a Reply

